Swimming earns three school records at NEISDA Championships

By Arpeni Mael, Editor-in-Chief
The men’s swim team finished out their 2016-2017 season at the 2017 New England Intercollegiate Swimming and Diving Association (NEISDA) Championships on Sunday at the Tootell Aquatic Center. On the first day of championships, David Adamski competed in the 500-yard freestyle preliminaries. He topped the field of 23 while shattering his seeded time by more than 20 seconds. He also reset the Corsair program record with a time of 4:45.21. In the finals, he shaved his time to 4 minutes, 37.20 seconds and claimed the NEISDA title by less than a second ahead of Roger Williams’ John Babuka. Adamski added 20 points to UMass Dartmouth’s total in the process. In the 200-yard freestyle relay, Adamski, Devin Farnsworth, Derek Marshall, and Kevin Curley took fifth with a time of 1 minute, 29.42 seconds. Alone, Curley cut his 50-yard freestyle time down to 22.40 seconds and clinched a spot in the championship final heat. He placed fifth and shaved his time down to 22.25 seconds. Farnsworth placed sixth in the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 54.13 seconds. Closing out the first day of championships, Adamski, Farnsworth, Marshall, and Troy Sjahfieden touched the pad sixth in the 400-yard medley relay with a time of 3 minutes, 46.35 seconds. On the second day, Adamski outdid the oldest standing UMass Dartmouth program record in the 200-yard freestyle. He finished second with a time of 1 minute, 44.42 seconds. Farnsworth placed third in the 50-yard butterfly with a final time of 23.64 seconds. He secured 16 points for the Corsairs in the process. In the 200-yard medley relay, Farnsworth, Marshall, Sjahfieden, and Curley took seventh with a final time of 1 minute, 40.84 seconds. Marshall and Steven Yezukevicz moved up in the 100-yard backstroke. Marshall improved from 12th to 10th place with a final time of 57.89 seconds. Yezukevicz improved from 14th to 13th with a time of 1 minute, 00.99 seconds. Adamski concluded his season with four school records in three individual events. He claimed the NEISDA title in the 1,650 freestyle with a final time of 16:32.26. Adamski became the new school record holder in the 1,650 and 1,000 freestyle, with a time of 9:54.08. Marshall gathered a seventh-place overall finish in the 50-yard backstroke with a best time of 26.53 seconds. Curley finished 10th with a time of 26.82 seconds. He also placed ninth in the 100-yard freestyle, finishing with a time of 49.33 seconds. Marshall then teamed up with Farnsworth, Adamski, and Curley to pick up a sixth place finish in the 400-yard freestyle with a time of 3:16.33. The Corsairs reset six school records throughout the championships, including four by Adamski. He alone accounted for 57 individual points with two event titles.

Leave a Reply